Accreditation Council

The Accreditation Council plays an important role in the accreditation process, overseeing quality standards of module content and delivery agents and providing a measure of independence from the ARMS Board over accreditation recommendations.

Membership for the Accreditation Council was finalised in May, 2013. The Accreditation Council meets face to face once per year.


The Accreditation Council includes representation from:

A person who served in the position of Pro or Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research) - Position currently held by Professor Lee Astheimer, ex DVC(R) from Deakin University.

A Person who served in the position of Director of a University Research Office - Dr Ross McLennan, Director of Research and Innovation Services, UniSA (ARMS President Elect)

A Board member of ARMS - Dr Campbell Thomson, Director, Office of Research Enterprise, UWA (ARMS President)

A member who has served in the position of General Manager/Chief Operating Officer of an Independent Medical Research Institute - Dr Peter Wejbora, Head of Research Development and Partnerships, Children’s Cancer Institute

Two members from key Australian Agencies involved in the research and innovation system, including but not limited to CSIRO, ARC, NHMRC, the CRC Association - Dr Melissa Straffon, Executive Manager, CSIRO Research.

A member drawn from key New Zealand agency involved in research and innovation - Currently vacant

A member drawn from key Singaporean agency involved in research and innovation -Professor Zee Upton, Executive Director, Institute of Medical Biology, Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR)

Dr Mark Hochman, ARMS Business Consultant, In attendance

Maria Zollo, ARMS Chief Operating Officer, In attendance, Secretariat:  Accreditation Council

The initial Chair will be the person who has served in the position of Pro or Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research) and will occupy this position for two years. Future Chairs will be drawn from the membership of the Accreditation Council.

The Accreditation Council will receive administrative support from the ARMS Chief Operating Officer, Maria Zollo