The Australian Capital Territory Chapter

Marie-Helene Rousseau


M-H R.jpgManager, Research Funding and Development Team, Research Services Division, ANU

Marie-Helene manages the Research Funding and Development team of the central Research Services Division of the Australian National University, responsible for coordinating large scale research funding schemes and managing targeted funding opportunities. Before taking this role, she was the Deputy Manager, Research Services, at the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific; there she was responsible for grants and funding proposal development, capacity building of academics,  and managing the College Seminar Series aimed at building research development and management capacity within the academic community. Marie-Helene holds a PhD from the University of London. Prior to joining the ANU, she was the Director of Research for the Beverly Foundation, a US based non-profit Foundation.




Shubhra Roy


SR.pngMs Shubhra Aurita Roy has been in research management for more than a decade, and is currently the Funded Research Manager, at the University of Canberra. She is responsible for managing end to end operational management of research, research policy and managing relationships with funding bodies and government. She has been successful in strengthening the service element of research administration in University of Canberra and in creating the scaffold for its transition from a teaching intensive institution to a thriving young research university. Prior to working at University of Canberra, Shubhra has worked at Intel Corporation, managing university, government and industry relationships for Intel Research Labs, including technology transfer, influencing government policy and enabling research engagement. She believes that academia and industry have much to offer each other in terms of best practices and sees ARMS as a highly efficacious platform for research administrators to share their knowledge in an increasingly global environment. Shubhra actively presents papers and seminars on research administration, leadership and management globally. 

She is also an active community worker and is Secretary of Initiatives for Women in Need (IWiN) that focuses on women's issues, such as health and domestic violence.



Rosa Gray


Rosa Gray ARMS pic.jpgRosa is part of the Research Funding and Development team of the Central Research Services Division of the Australian National University, where she undertakes research office responsibilities including scheme and development coordination. Before this she worked as a lead librarian for the Horowhenua District Libraries, New Zealand, completed a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Otago. 








Committee Member
Dr Nian (Jenny) Jiang


Jenny.jpgSenior Research Management Officer
Joint Colleges of Science

Jenny is the Senior Research Management Officer at the Joint Colleges of Science in ANU. Jenny received a PhD in Physics from ANU in 2016. Jenny had 10 years’ experience as a researcher in materials science and engineering and is passionate about promoting collaboration between researchers in different fields and between researchers and research end-users.  Jenny started working in Research Office in ANU since 2016 and she is the Scheme Coordinator for Linkage Projects for the Joint Colleges of Science at ANU. 





Chapter Event Planner and Coordinator
Cat Karcher

  Catherine Karcher.jpg                     

Research Funding and Development Coordinator
Research Services Division

Cat is a member of the Research Funding and Development Office at ANU Research Services Division. She is responsible for the unit’s Seminar Series, planning and delivering targeted training to research management staff and academics. She also manages the Office’s communications and coordination of large research funding schemes such as ARC Discovery Program. Previously, she was a Research Administrator with ANU College of Asia and the Pacific Research Services. Cat holds a Master of Science degree in English Literature and Pedagogy from Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven, CT.





Committee Member
Jonathan Ward

 Photo-Jonathan Ward.jpg

Jonathan Ward is a research management professional with a focus on contact management, pre- and post-award activities, and process development. He works as a Senior Advisor, Research Management at the University of Canberra and received a Masters of Engineering in Photonics from the Australian National University in 2018. Following his time in research, Jonathan moved into Research Management so that he could remain connected to research, applying his skills to improve support for researchers and enhance collaboration between research with industry.  








Committee Member
Sebastien Lacrampe 



Committee Member
Hannah Clarke



Committee Member
Suzanne Austin



Ewa Ziolkowska 



Mary Gray



Grahame Pearson



Grahame has extensive experience having worked in a university environment since 1993 and more specifically research support roles since 2003. He has solid working knowledge of other key areas including human resources, finance, information technology, student and the institutional planning office.  He has a solid grasp of the research environment, influencing factors at both a national and international level. Grahame currently works for Elsevier.